Our mission is to promote the conservation, restoration, and enjoyment
of natural resources and habitats for birds and other wildlife.


Birds of Bastrop County



Meeting: Tuesday, September 20, 2016

BCAS resumes its “third Tuesday” meetings after a two-month summer hiatus on Tuesday, September 20 at the First National Bank meeting room in Bastrop, 7:00 p.m. Doors open at 6:30.

Melody Lytle, long-time birder and wildlife photographer, brings a stunning selection of her
photographs for the BCAS September program.

Lytle will talk about “great birds I have seen, how Texas birds can look different in different locations,
and how birders taking casual photos on a birding trip can take better shots.”

She is a retired biologist for the City of Austin’s Balcones Canyonlands Preserve program, which
manages a tract of 13,608 acres. She began shooting photos in connection with her job, and “I’ve never
stopped.” She and her husband now travel extensively, anywhere from San Marcos to Antarctica.

In addition to the digital slide show, Lytle will bring some prints to supplement the experience of the images on the screen.

The City of Austin preserve is one in a system of preserves in a multi-agency effort to support a number of endangered species and species of concern, most famously the Golden-cheeked Warbler and the Black-capped Vireo.

Members are invited to the pre~meeting dining together (Dutch treat) before the meeting at 5:00 pm at Cedars Mediterranean Grille, 904 College Street in Bastrop.  Please RSVP to Sandy Simon at ssimon1221@yahoo.com if you plan to join us.  

Meeting begins at 7:00, at the First National Bank in Bastrop, Hasler Blvd. @ Hwy. 71 w.  BCAS meets every third Tuesday, except during summer months.

The BCAS meeting is held in the second floor meeting room in the First National Bank Building, Hasler Blvd., in Bastrop.  Doors open at 6:30.

(Map to meeting)

Results of May Board Elections:

President:  Mike Goebel

Vice President:  Priscilla Jarvis

Treasurer:  Jackie Fisher

Recording Secretary:  Sandy Simon

Membership Secretary:  Dru Gabrysch

Media/Editor Chair:  Mary Ellen Branan

Conservation Chair:  Jan Goebel

Education Chair:  David Mitchell

Audubon Foundation of Texas Delegate:  Susan Leslie

                Alternate:  Mike Goebel

General Directors:    Alan Jaeger

            Susan Leslie

            Garrett Taylor


They will serve for two years.